Thursday, June 06, 2019

75th Theatre World Awards

Nathan Lane
The 75th Theatre World Awards celebrated the debut of promising Broadway and Off-Broadway actors on June 3 in a sweet ceremony full of touching stories, even though it ran more than two hours long. Host Peter Filichia charmingly kept the show moving though.

Awards went to Gbenga Akinnagbe (To Kill a Mockingbird), Tom Glynn-Carney (The Ferryman), Sophia Anne Caruso (Beetlejuice), Paddy Considine (The Ferrryman), James Davis (Oklahoma!), Micaela Diamond (The Cher Show), Bonnie Milligan (Head Over Heels), Simone Missick (Paradise Blue), Jeremy Pope (Choir Boy/Ain't Too Proud), Colton Ryan (Girl From the North Country), Stephanie Styles (Kiss Me, Kate!) and Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Fleabag). Hampton Fluker (All My Sons) won The Dorothy Loudon Award.

The highlight was Nathan Lane accepting the John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre. He mentioned that he was getting to the age where he was "distinguished" and had accepted three such awards this season. Phillip Boykin (The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess), Ernestine Jackson (Raisin) and Linda Eder (J&H) sang

Rosemary Harris
Linda Eder

Lane's Gary castmates congratulate him
Ernestine Jackson
Micaela Diamond

James Davis

Phillip Boykin

No comments: